Turning on the magic

Published April 5, 2009 by Syllable

By now everyone has heard, if not tried, about the “vibrating” mascaras taking the markets by storm. This weekend, I decided to take the plunge and find out what the fuss was all about for myself.

estee-lauder-turbo-lash-mascara1jpgEstee Lauder* was my brand of choice. I don’t wear a lot of make up very often, and when I do apply any at all, mascara would be it. The main reason behind my decision to go with Estee Lauder is the fact that the motor is activated as soon as the tube is open, as opposed to pushing a button on the Lancôme wand. To me this is easier to ensure that my mascara is closed properly, and won’t dry out or play host to any unexpected nasties.

Rumour has it that Estee Lauder came up with this magical concept first, but that is neither here nor there for me.

Dolly, the Estee Lauder representative at Menlyn’s Edgars, invited me to have a closer look at the wand before making up my mind. “It lengthens, curls, separates and gives volume all in one motion,” she told me. Having naturally long lashes, I wasn’t too concerned with the curl or length aspect.

What I found interesting to note, is that the wand doesn’t vibrate from side-to-side as one may imagine from the description, but rather subtly rotates. As Dolly pressed the wand to the base of my lashes, there was a distinct sensation of it rolling off my lashes. She handed me a mirror and I was sold instantly. The difference between my coated and uncoated eye was astonishing – evenly coated in two strokes, beautifully upturned separated lashes. Like magic!

Declining her offer to do my other eye, I instead asked Dolly if she’d mind if I tried applying it myself. While I was keen to take this little wonder home, I didn’t see the sense in doing so if I felt too freaked out to bring it near my blinkers.
It tickled a bit at first, probably because I approached the entire application a little gingerly. Confident that I’d get better, Dolly assembled the wand, and I left with my gold-and-blue tube.

The next morning I was excited to give it another bash, and was happy that it went much better.
I think the very first time you apply mascara you have that reflex of blinking for fear of stabbing your own eye out. The same applies when you use a new concept near your eye for the first time. So if you’ve been wearing mascara for longer than a week, you’ll have no problem getting the hang of this in a single application.

With my eyes being my best feature, I imagine I’ll be wearing make up a lot more often.

*Estee Lauder Turbo Lash Mascara retails at R365 at major retailers.

Leave a Reply

